top of page
  • The Court Supporters

Meet The Court's General Manager, Susan Rendall!

Written by Barbara George, Chief Executive


Behind every good woman... is another equally good woman!


I am very lucky indeed. In all of my years being a Chief Executive I have looked to surround myself with capable people who are on my wave length, share my values and work as hard as me for the right reasons. Many times I have come close to this idea, but it wasn’t until I got to The Court that this quest became a reality.


I arrived on a Monday morning in October, and looked through the crowd, my eyes settling on a woman rushing through the doors with a lovely bunch of flowers, looking directly at me. “I am so glad you are here!”


“Here is your car – would you like to drive?” OK, that wouldn’t be smart as I would have no idea where to go. We headed to No 4 Bar for brunch. Just the two of us. It was great – neither of us would let the other get a word in. You know, when you have that feeling that you have known this person all your life.


“I have been looking forward to handing this job over to you.” Hahaha, not so fast! You can keep it. Ladies and gentlemen, let me introduce Susan Rendall, our General Manager!


Susan had done an exceptional job as the interregnum CE, and had ensured that my arrival would be a smooth and positive as it could be. In a fairly short space of time, I learned all the things we had in common:


· We had both managed orchestras;

· We both have music degrees;

· We are close in age;

· We both have lovely supportive husbands (just in case Owen and Peter are reading this);

· We both love sauvignon blanc – particularly Giesen’s lighter alcohol version;

· We both love hiking;

· We have parents the same age – in fact, both our dads are 83 born one day apart;

· We love to sing (thinking about joining the City Choir if we can find some time);

· And we share a vision of what we want The Court Theatre to be, both in The Shed and in our new home in the City.


Getting to know Susan has been a joy and, for those of you who know us, you will see that every time you come to The Shed. The Treaty of Waitangi dictates that everyone who is here belongs. For most of us Kiwis, we don’t know too much about South Africa, unless it's the rugby, but Susan has shown me that important things like integrity, work ethic, friendship and kindness, are the values she grew up with as well.


Born in Zimbabwe and raised in South Africa, Susan began her career in the early '80s as a computer programmer and worked in a variety of roles in the IT industry for nearly 20 years. In 2001, she enrolled in a Bachelor of Music at the University of the Witwatersrand in Johannesburg and graduated at the end of 2004 with composition as a major. Life was never the same again!


Susan’s career in the arts began with some part time music teaching, a short stint as a school teacher (which included completing a Post Graduate Certificate in Education – Music) and then being appointed as the Chief Executive of the Johannesburg Youth Orchestra Company in 2010. In this role, Susan realised the enormous benefit of the arts, both as a vital part of any society as well as an essential tool for children’s emotional, intellectual and social development.

At the beginning of 2017, Susan and Peter relocated to New Zealand where she was appointed as the Artist Liaison Manager at The Court Theatre. After the resignation of the previous Chief Executive, Susan was appointed Acting Chief Executive until I arrived.


Susan plays the oboe. The principal oboe of an orchestra is highly important. It’s the instrument in the orchestra that everyone tunes to. When she sounds A-442 Hz, the focus turns to the job at hand and one by one the band falls into line. Rather like her General Manager role, here at The Court Theatre!


185 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page