top of page
  • The Court Supporters

Meet Our Ushers

Updated: Jun 10, 2020


Elizabeth Grubb


When did you first become a Court Theatre usher?

I've been a supporter of The Court almost from its beginning. I didn't become an usher until five years ago when my husband (who is also an usher) and I moved to Christchurch. This was in 2015.


What do you love about being an usher?

I love live theatre and I enjoy meeting people. The whole warm and friendly feel of The Court Theatre is good for my wellbeing. William and I have really enjoyed meeting the other ushers. They are an interesting and diverse great group of people. The whole ushering experience has enriched our lives here in Christchurch.


Do you have a favourite memory from your time volunteering for the theatre?

I always find it exciting when I meet an old friend in the audience or someone I taught in my teaching career. I also love seeing people I know well involved in the production.


What’s your favourite show by The Court Jesters that you’ve seen at The Court?

Kathleen Burns' characters Toad and Mole in the children's show of Thumbelina, written by Emma Cusdin, stands out. Kathleen and Emma are both very clever improvisers whom I love seeing in Scared Scriptless.


What do you do when you’re not volunteering at the theatre?

I also volunteer at Orana Wildlife Park usually twice a week and when I’m not in lockdown I sing in two choirs! I also get involved in the plays written by David Winfield, usually directing. My husband William and I have a lovely dog and family living in Christchurch, so we dog walk and are lucky to spend time with our family.


152 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page