top of page
  • The Court Supporters

From the Artistic Director - August 2021


When I watched an early rehearsal of Nick Dear’s Frankenstein it struck me, what a thought provoking script it is. It made me think about...humanity. And being human. And making choices. And why. And that was only act 1!

Also, I sat there realising it will be the biggest show of the year. A giant set by Harrold Moot one of our favourite and local designers, with a cast of twenty onstage.


Holly Chappell, the director, and her husband Tom Eason, Movement Director of Frankenstein are making something very different with their team. There is...movement. I can’t call it dancing. I can’t call it choreography. It is a mob of angry people, it is water, it is anger and fire... I believe this show will be quite different from our normal fare, and I am excited by it.


As an avid theatre goer, I think this will be a show for you to sink your teeth into. I expect thoughtful faces to be coming out of the theatre and many questions over a drink at the bar afterwards. (Mine’s a lovely Giesen Merlot, thanks).


On a completely different note, I would like to say a huge thank you to all of the Court Friends Ushers who have been looking after our audiences during sold-out seasons of ONCE and Moana Jr! You have had your hands full with people EVERYWHERE. Thank you for your smiles to the cast members when they are warming up onstage pre-show; thank you for making Pasifika families welcome – particularly those who may have never been here before; and thank you for helping take pizzas through a full foyer. (Thank you for selling me Snickers bars to keep me going in my office into the early evenings).

See you at Frankenstein – take my word for it, you won’t want to miss it!


Dan Pengelly

Artistic Director

179 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page