top of page
  • The Court Supporters

From the Artistic Director


Kia ora Supporters,


I don’t know about you, but as we near the end of 2020, I am ready for a cuppa and a slice of Annie Bonifant’s famous xmas pud. What a bloody year.


I would like to take this 200-word count opportunity (that’s all David Winfield said I was allowed, apparently I talk too much) to acknowledge you all. Every night since we opened Jersey Boys, eight of you have trekked in, checked the exits, scanned tickets, guided patrons who needed help, kept people safe and cleaned up after our audiences (even those messy bloody magnums!). Where on earth would we be without you all? Simply - a huge thank you. Thank you for supporting our artists to have those precious moments in the theatre to connect with audiences and spark something in their hearts. Thank you for dealing with the patrons that just want to get that quick blimmin’ drink even though they are running late for the show start time!


Pat Braithwaite is yelling at me from the doorway - apparently my actual brief was to talk to you about next year’s programme... So, I thought I would share my favourite pick for the 2021 season. It is Things I Know to Be True, a heart-warming and heart-wrenching drama. It is the best play I have read in the last 12 months and I believe, for you theatre elite, it will be the gritty one that you can dig your teeth into. Lara Macgregor plays the lead… need I say more? Lady Macbeth part 2 – just kidding. It’s not that sort of drama.


That is enough gabbing from me. I hope you all have some joyful time with your partners, children and grandchildren (even the angsty teenage ones) to celebrate Christmas. We are so blessed to be able to move around and hug safely (Tony Feaver I am still waiting…).


Merry Christmas Supporters, and thank you for all your generosity that makes this place run.


Mwah mwah mwah (and cheek pinches),

Dan Pengelly


173 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page